Dr. Arlene Fiore

Credentials: Peter H. Stone and Paola Malanotte Stone Professor in Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Faculty Profile

Arlene Fiore is a professor of atmospheric chemistry in the Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (formerly in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory (LDEO) and Columbia University).  Her research group analyzes observations and models to investigate processes shaping pollutant distributions at scales ranging from individual pollution episodes to global change scenarios and their linkages with climate and health. Previously, she was a research scientist at NOAA GFDL and has contributed to air quality and climate assessments.

HAQAST Project: Investigating spatiotemporal patterns at the nexus of air pollution, climate and public health over the Northeast U.S.A.

Arlene’s team will integrate multi-platform Earth observations to generate a series of highly resolved exposure maps, with uncertainty estimates, for multiple pollutants and heat during recent decades for the New York State (NYS) Department of Health and the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation. The team also aims to identify daily and urban-rural variations in pollutants over Northeastern states, information that can guide air pollution control strategies.

Project goals/deliverables:

  1. Identify how pollutant exposures – and their uncertainty – co-vary with meteorology, emissions, and demographic and socioeconomic indicators.
  2. Characterize how ground-level ozone formation chemistry varies in space and time, and with other pollutants, meteorology, and emissions.
  3. Derive exposure-response (E-R) curves for short-term multi-pollutant and heat exposure using NYS health records and apply them to NE health impacts analyses for recent and near-term decades.

Co-Investigators/Team Members: M.-A. Kioumourtzoglou (CU/MSPH); S.B. Adamo (CU/CIESIN); T.Z. Insaf (NYS DOH); B.N. Duncan (NASA GSFC), L.Lamsal (USRA), P. Kinney (BU), K. Chance, G. González Abad, and C. Nowlan (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics), K. Civerolo and Y.R. Tian (NYS DEC), A. Karambelas and P. Miller (NESCAUM), B. Henderson (U.S. EPA OAQPS), S. Johnson, (NYC DOH&MH)